Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS)

The first Consultative Committee Meeting of COMSATS was held on 27th April 2009 in Abuja-Nigeria, under the chairmanship of Mr. Muhammad Kashif Murtaza, Federal Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of Pakistan. The Committee comprises high-level officials acting as focal points of member states, where as the focal point of the COMSATS’ host country, Pakistan, serves as the chair.

The members of the Consultative Committee presented the country statements that conveyed their respective governments’ stance on S&T led sustainable development. These statements particularly shed light on improving the general policy of the Network, gave useful recommendations to improve the scientific capacities and reflected upon developing means to strengthen synergies among COMSATS’ focal points and the Centres of Excellence. Representatives from: Egypt, Ghana, Iran, Jamaica, Nigeria, Pakistan, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe attended the meeting.

The 12th Coordinating Council Meeting of COMSATS, held on 28th and 29th April, deliberated upon the programmes and projects of COMSATS’ Network of Centres of Excellence. This year the Council, which is represented by the heads or their representatives of the Centres of Excellence (presently from 15 developing countries), reviewed composition of terms of reference of COMSATS’ Management Committee, discussed the re-constitution of its Technical Advisory Committee, besides taking key decisions on other important administrative and financial matters.

The meeting was chaired by the Director General National Mathematical Centre of Nigeria, Prof. Sam O. Ale in place of the Executive Director TWAS, Prof. M. H. A. Hassan, who was unable to travel to Nigeria. Prof. Osama El Shabrawy (Egypt) also chaired a session. Besides the Executive Director COMSATS, Dr. Imtinan Elahi Qureshi, who is also the Secretary to the Council, the meeting was attended by heads/representatives of 8 Centres of Excellence. The meeting concluded on 29th April 2009 with a commitment on the part of the participating members, to reinvigorate COMSATS’ activities.

The two meetings were jointly inaugurated on 27th April 2009, by the Minister of Education of Nigeria, Dr. Sam Egwu, hosted by the National Mathematical Centre (NMC) Abuja-Nigeria. NMC is also one of the members of COMSATS’ Network of Centres of Excellence and is dedicated to the basic research and applications of mathematical sciences in Nigeria. Over a hundred participants from scientific organizations, universities, and R&D institutions of Nigeria attended the inauguration ceremony.

The participants of the meetings were also informed about the agenda of the state-level Commission’s meeting. The deliberations of these two meetings are expected to pave way for the success of the much awaited Commission Meeting, which is scheduled to be held in 2010.

[Welcome Address by D.G. NMC] [Introductory Remarks by E.D. COMSATS]
[Message from Minister of S&T, Nigeria] [Inaugural Speech by Minister of Education, Nigeria] [Resolutions] [Picture Gallery]

Follow-up Actions