Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS)


Al-Quds University (AQU), Palestine


The Al-Quds University is a Palestinian university founded in 1984, having over 13,000 students and fifteen academic faculties. The main campus of the University is located in Abu Dis, with four more campuses in Jerusalem, Sheikh Jarrah, Beit Hanina and Ramallah (al Bireh). The university has 83 Research Groups in which more than 130 PhDs are currently working. 192 Research Assistants and 58 project-based employees are also serving at different Research Centres in Al-Quds University.

Focus Areas:

The focus areas of the Al-Quds University are: Arts; Business and Economics; Dentistry; Educational Sciences; Engineering; Health; Law; Medicine; Pharmacy; Public Health; Islamic Studies; and Science and Technology.


The Research Laboratories at Al-Quds University are: Soil Hydrology and Research Laboratory; Research Laboratory of Water and Environment; Nanotechnology Research Laboratory; Microbiology Research Laboratory; Molecular Genetics Laboratory; Laser and IR Spectroscopy Laboratory; Drug and Discovery Research Laboratory; Computational Chemistry and Drug Design Laboratory; Biophysics Research Laboratory; Biodiversity Research Laboratory; and Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory.


Al-Quds University has expertise in Soil Hydrology; Water and Environment; Medical Sciences; Radiation Science and Technology; Nanotechnology; Microbiology; Medical Research; Molecular Genetics; Laser and IR Spectroscopy; Drug Discovery; Computational Chemistry and Drug Design; Colloids and Surfaces Research; Primary Health Care; Chemical and Biological Analysis; Biophysics; Biodiversity; Aquatic Environmental Research; Nutrition and Health; and Cognitive Neuroscience.

Looking for:

Al Quds University is looking for collaboration with other universities and private and public sector for curriculum design and human resources.


Web entries