follow us on
Home > Successful Conclusion of the 2nd Commission Meeting of COMSATS (April 16-17, 2012)

Successful Conclusion of the 2nd Commission Meeting of COMSATS (April 16-17, 2012)
Successful Conclusion of the 2nd Commission Meeting of COMSATS (April 16-17, 2012)
The 2nd Commission Meeting of COMSATS concluded on April 17, 2012, after having worked out broad policy guidelines for the future functioning of the Commission. The meeting was held at the level of Ministers appointed by the Heads of Member States. Around 53 country delegates from seventeen Member States, along with representatives of three international organizations; TWAS, ISESCO and COMSTECH, attended the Meeting. The countries represented in the meeting were: Bangladesh, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, Iran, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zimbabwe.

The Meeting was inaugurated on 16th April 2012 by the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani, in Islamabad. Other guests of honour at the inauguration were the Minister for Science and Technology (MoST), Mir Changez Khan Jamali; Federal Secretary MoST, Mr. Akhlaq Ahmad Tarar (Chairperson of COMSATS Consultative Committee); Executive Director COMSATS, Dr. Imtinan Elahi Qureshi; and the Chairperson of COMSATS Coordinating Council, Dr. Eduardo Posada Flórez (Executive Director CIF, Colombia). Members of Parliament and senior officials of the Government of Pakistan, as well as envoys of the member countries placed in Islamabad also attended the inaugural session.

The participating delegates extensively deliberated on the 12-point agenda of the Meeting during three plenary sessions spread over two days. The main highlights of the Meeting included: report by the Executive Director COMSATS overviewing COMSATS’ activities since its inception; statements of the participating member countries; an open forum discussing the cooperation issues and COMSATS’ future strategy; discussions on financial sustainability of the organization; amendments in the International Agreement of COMSATS; and election of the new Chairperson of COMSATS.

On behalf of the President of Ghana, H.E. John Evans Atta Mills, the Minister for Environment, Science & Technology, Government of Ghana, Ms. Sherry Ayittey, accepted the Chairpersonship of COMSATS. In her acceptance speech, Ms. Ayittey thanked the participating representatives of the Member States and pledged strong efforts on Ghana’s part to promote S&T cooperation among the Member States of COMSATS in its new capacity as Chairperson.

Finally a Resolution was adopted unanimously by the participants of the Meeting.

Go back
Untitled Document
Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
AAAS-TWAS Course on Science Diplomacy 2018
Scholarships offered by COMSATS’ Centres of Excellence
ICGEB Travel Awards Eligibility
Annual Report
Series of S&T Publications
Excellence in Science
COMSATS' Documents
Other Publications
Activities of COEs
Activities of Centres of Excellence
CIIT holds its historic Celebrates 100th Convocation
Fostering Solar Technology in the Mediterranean Area Concludes
Important Links
Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ghana
(Line Ministry for the Office of COMSATS' Chairperson)
Ministry of Science and Technology, Pakistan
Khwarizmi International Awards
ISESCO Centre for Promotion of Scientific Research (ICPSR)
The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)
Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ISESCO)
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Bottom Links
The Commission
Chairperson of COMSATS
Mission and Objectives
Statutory Bodies
    - General Meeting
    - Consultative Committee
    - The Network
    - The Secretariat
Statutes and Official Documents
    - Statutes
    - Strategy Document
    - Endowment Fund
    - Benefits and Obligations of Joining COMSATS
International Linkages
Memoranda of Understanding
The Secretariat
Profile of the Executive Director
Message from the Executive Director
Consultative Committee
The Consultative Committee
    - Functions of the Committee
    - Members and Liaison Officers
    - Profile of the Chairperson
Network of Centres of Excellence
The Network
The Coordinating Council
    - Functions of the Council
    - Members and Liaison Officers
    - Profile of the Chairperson
The Technical Advisory Committee
    - Functions of the Committee
    - List of Members
COMSATS' Programmes
COMSATS' Ongoing Projects
Science Diplomacy
International Thematic Research Groups (ITRGs)
National/International Events
Scientific Actvities Sponsorship
Postgraduate Scholarships
Expert Exchange Programme
Distinguished Professorship Scheme
COMSATS' Panel of Experts on ST&I Policy
Past Initiatives / Programmes
Publications and Resources
Annual Report
Science Vision
Series of S&T Publications
COMSATS-TWAS 'Excellence in Science'
COMSATS at a Glance
COMSATS Brochure
Other Information Documents
Other Publications
| | | | |